fun chow

May 7, 2009 at 9:24 pm 4 comments

So.  On occasion I get grocery store Chinese food for lunch.  Not so great, but really good if you know what I mean.  And whenever I get Chinese food, I look forward to busting open the fortune cookie at the end.  But not with this Chinese food.  I don’t know who their fortune cookie vendor is, but they are the absolute worst!  They aren’t even fortunes.  There is no “You will travel soon” or “Success is right around the corner” in these little cookies.  They are more “statement cookies.”  Things like, “You know many people.”  And I was getting awfully peeved about the un-fortunes until yesterday when I got this one:

You are a happy man.

…?

Huh?

Just in case you don’t know me (or do know me, but are still confused), I am not a man.

But oh, did I laugh.  And I have it next to my ergonomically positioned monitor at work.  To remind me that if I am a man, at least I am a happy man.

Entry filed under: random, rant.

life

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. robyn  |  May 8, 2009 at 5:58 am

    HILARIOUS! I too have the pet peeve of unfortune cookies. I just bought a box of fortune cookies on amazon, thinking it would be a cool little extra surprise to throw in with orders. I didn’t even think about trying to investigate what kind of fortunes were in them until the box arrived. Sad to say, it’s all words of wisdom rather than fortunes. I’d rather they go out on a completely crazy limb, than be words of wisdom, meaning I’d rather read “today you will get slapped in the face with a fish” than “a bird in the hand is better than two in the bush”.

    Reply
  • 2. Andrea's Sweet Life  |  May 8, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    Obviously the universe is letting you know that you were supposed to bring some of that lunch home to Mr. Man!

    Reply
  • 3. Chris  |  May 8, 2009 at 7:03 pm

    I hate statement cookies. But I do have one statement I saved. It says “Art misunderstanding by calm, poise and balance.” I’m not sure what it means, but I’m sure it’s deep.

    Reply
  • 4. everydaycreate  |  June 5, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    I hope that the fortune cookie got it at least half right!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

