yes

January 20, 2009 at 7:17 pm 1 comment

I will try to keep this short, but I have to say it…

20-011-1

[Photo: detail of my election Move On sticker.]

Today was my generation’s “where were you” moment.  I was with my friend Jen and another coworker (and my friend Jolie, in spirit) in the kitchen breakroom at work, watching Biden be sworn in, the instrumental piece, and finally Mr. Obama’s amazing moment.

I’m never sure just how well people in other countries understand what this means to us.  Especially to a democrat who cringed with embarassment and frustration for the last 8 years.  Especially to all of these kids that were told they could be whatever they wanted to be, but never had proof.  I still get chills when I realize what a (long-overdue) step we as a country finally made.

The thing is, it really shouldn’t be a big deal.  This should be just about an intelligent, well-spoken man taking an oath to get our country out of this mess.  But it is important and I am happy to have witnessed it.

Entry filed under: goals.

70s spunk not me

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Rick  |  January 21, 2009 at 12:26 am

    Such a great speaker. I noted some MILK-style intonation. My personal favorite part, which almost inspired tears: “We are a nation of Christians and Muslims, Jews and Hindus, and nonbelievers.” Emphasis mine.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

