sciency art

January 4, 2009 at 8:22 pm 1 comment

mosaic2279607

soap bubble and waterfigure by Fotoopa

As you can see from some past posts I am fond of art created by non-artistic means. I belong to the school of thought that art is defined by intention (something can be called art when its creator intends it to be art–even if it is just a signed urinal). And while I appreciate beautiful oil masterpieces I really love when artists use unconventional materials. So, as I was scrolling through my Google Reader I decided to share a few links for art made with science [all via NotCot]:

Michael Oliveri – gorgeous photos through electron microscopes

Fotoopa – Flickr set of Waterfigures (colored water droplets caught in mid-splash)

And for the more down-to-earth:

Darius Twin – learn how to paint with light in your photographs

Ann P. Smith – sculptures from broken electronics

Go click away and let me know what you think! Does art need to be more literal? More realistic? Or does the abstract have something to say too?

Entry filed under: art.

being crafty sparkly

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jami Lee Rosa  |  January 5, 2009 at 9:35 am

    I think art is whatever you want it to be. Everyone has their own definition and their own style. That’s part of the charm at least it is for me. đŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

