09

January 1, 2009 at 7:33 pm 2 comments

by Alex the Greek on Flickr

[photo courtesy of alex the greek on Flickr]

Coconuts are my New Years resolutions. Actually, my overarching goal is getting things done. Not just talking about it, planning it, writing lists, and thinking that I’ll do things. No. I am going to get going and crack those coconuts. (As in a metaphor for doing some hard work to get at the reward.) Since I am the founding member of my local Procrastinators United it is a very tough resolution indeed. Wish me luck. I am wishing all of YOU luck as well, with whatever your coconut may be.

And in a very simple way of looking back at 2008 I tallied up the number of movies I watched and books I read (see the little tab at the top?). I found that I read 24.5 books and watched 65 and 5 halves movies. What can I say? It was a slow year for reading. (Also, I am not overly proud of everything on the movie list.)

A few highlights I recommend (that rated at least a B+ in my eyes):

  • The Road by Cormac McCarthy
  • The Fall by Tarsem Singh
  • Little Miss Sunshine (for some family dysfunction)
  • Oryx & Crake by Margaret Atwood
  • Sunshine (for artsy sci-fi action)

Now, as a way to expand my horizons, please leave me any book or movie recommendations you have in the comments. As you can see from my list I am a bit of a geek (sci-fi and comics are OK by me), but I am open to anything. Even *sigh of embarrassment* trying teen movies and romantic comedies. *sigh*

Onward into ’09!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

tag, you’re it! fancy pants

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mr. Man  |  January 1, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    What about Step Brothers! We just watched that!

    Boats and Hoes!

    Crack those coconuts, honey!

    Reply
  • 2. sheasy  |  January 1, 2009 at 10:15 pm

    Sunshine!!! AAAAAAAGH!!!! Did we talk about this movie before I moved? Because it caused me some sever trauma and I doubt I would have not shared that with you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

