more!

October 9, 2008 at 8:49 pm 2 comments

Now to share another item I sent to Kat for her birthday: an eco-friendly (recycled), homemade stationery and envelope set!

First I took an 11×17 piece of thin cardboard (recycled from the trash at work–thank you Sheasy!) and folded it in half. Glue a cut-out POW! saved from some box or other, and you automatically have a stationery folder:

Next I created interior pockets out of purple cardstock, trimmed with zig-zag scissors to hold the goodies:

The envelopes (on the left) are made from thick magazine covers and ads since that gives them more oomph when going through the glorious mail system. Here are 3 of them:

I ran a strip of mono-adhesive along the flaps and left the backing paper on so all she has to do is pull that off to seal them. It wasn’t too hard to figure out the dimensions and I have a PDF coming soon that explains how I make my envelopes!

The stationery itself consisted of adding magazine cut-outs of random objects to the corners of the paper:

As for the stamp in the upper right corner, I carved that out of some rubber (?) that I had from high school. [I wrote a quick set of instructions for making your own here.] And since I won’t have reason to stamp Kat’s name on other items regularly I figured I would toss that into the gift package with the new purple stamp pad:

If anyone out there makes a reclaimed stationery set, be sure to leave a link in the comments.

Now, stay tuned for the napkin-corset tutorial tomorrow!

Entry filed under: craft, green. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

kat! just ducky

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. robyn  |  October 9, 2008 at 9:26 pm

    I do, I do!
    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=8637947
    oh, but yours is so cute, I love that it comes in a folder, and I super love how you use window envelopes. Verrrry cute.

    Reply
  • 2. Melissa of {craftgasm}  |  November 10, 2008 at 11:04 am

    I’ve made a crapton of reclaimed stationery sets in recent weeks, but my camera’s a total wash, so I’ve been reliant on my bf’s to take pics, and so have not loaded them up to my Etsy shop yet. I’ve got a craft fair coming up on Sunday, and I am planning to list anything that doesn’t sell there onto my Etsy store next week.

    Here are crappy cameraphone pics: All wrapped up, and spread out like whoa.

    I love the little pockets you made for your set! How adorable. I may borrow that and do something similar for my cousin’s Christmas present. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

