kat!

October 8, 2008 at 9:39 pm 6 comments

I am SO, SO excited to finally be able to post this picture. This is a tie-cuff that I made for Kat’s birthday quite a while ago, but was waiting to complete the rest of the gift package. (Kat is my oldest brother’s girlfriend, but I hate to say that because she has become a great, supportive friend as well and it just sounds weird giving her a title.)

This cuff comes from my growing stash of fantastically cheesy 1970’s men’s ties and the most fantastical of them all is a very rare pink and purple paisley masterpiece. Here is a better idea of the pattern & color:

Crazy, huh? But in a really great way, especially when you think about the dapper gentleman who bought this originally. To what grand occasion did he wear it? Did he get compliments on it? Did he have a matching pink disco suit?

Anyway, I used the end of this lovely tie to create a cuff and embellished with vintage buttons. Then I painted an extra cardboard box from my wedding invitations a midnight blue and glued on a magazine cut-out of a couple in lederhosen:

I lovingly placed the tie-cuff inside with a note about washing and sizing:

I just got a voice message from her that she LOVED her gift and I couldn’t be more thrilled!  There were a few other items in the package that I am equally proud of so I will be sharing those in the next few days, including a tutorial about lingerie for your linens (napkin corsets!).

So, while I don’t adhere to calendars when it comes to gift-giving, Happy Birthday dear Kat!

Entry filed under: craft, Etsy, sewing, thrift. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

old timey newness more!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Andrea's Sweet Life  |  October 9, 2008 at 6:35 am

    Oh my goodness, that is FABULOUS! What a wonderful gift-giver you are!

    Reply
  • 2. Rick  |  October 9, 2008 at 7:33 pm

    SO FREAKIN COOL!

    I was blown away. And now, I will have to try to one-up you next year! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. sheasy  |  October 9, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    This is impeccabley done – as is everything you do. AWESOME.

    Reply
  • 4. Kat  |  October 10, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    I am wearing this master piece right now, and I keep showing it off to everyone at work. They are SO jealous!
    It is so wonderful, I will be passing this down to the next generation.
    I feel so hardcore running around with this on my wrist. Pictures will happen!

    Reply
  • 5. Kat  |  October 10, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    Oh and also, just a little lesson about my culture!
    Lederhosen literally means leather pants.
    The dress the girl is wearing is called a dirndl (dern-dle)
    But when people are wearing these traditional clothes it’s called Träge.
    It melted my heart when I saw the box, and the contents inside made me explode with happiness.

    Reply
  • 6. Geeky Acorn  |  October 15, 2008 at 2:02 am

    That is beautiful!! Makes me want to get out my sewing supplies and have a go at making one too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

