cheesy faux woodgrain

July 5, 2008 at 6:52 pm 1 comment

Introducing the best thrift deal I have ever found:

This is a tiny portion of my gigantic, super-solid, metal and faux woodgrain office desk in all its $8 splendor!  When I originally spied it I thought the $24.99 price tag was pretty good, but I decided to wait a few weeks until it would be half off at the thrift store (because I doubted anyone else would appreciate its ugly duckling cheesiness).  Then, when I showed up it had been marked down to $15.99.  Sweet, sweet, thrift karma.  My plan is to paint it, but for now I am enjoying it’s 1970s office-y goodness.  (Which is sufficiently different from the ergonomic cubicle dungeon I work in to make it fun.)

Part of what I enjoy most about thrifting is that everything comes with a story behind the stuff.  The people who used this desk must have worked in a particularly festive office/shop/garage because I found 3 distinct types of confetti in the drawers.  And a cheat sheet for various computer programs.  You can’t have fun all the time, Larry.

Entry filed under: craft, thrift. Tags: , , , , , , , .

27! crazy

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. sheasy  |  July 6, 2008 at 10:41 pm

    Once you make it over, it will be a sweetcheesy faux woodgrain.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

