i’m back!

June 30, 2008 at 9:29 pm 1 comment

I’m back!  Actually, I have been here most of the past week, but I had visiting to do.  My wonderful brother flew down from Seattle and we:

  1. went to a farmer’s market and bought tons of strawberries
  2. surprised our mom for lunch
  3. drove up to the mountains to see some of our favorite aunts and uncles
  4. went to the local art museum
  5. cooked yummy barbecue chicken (west coast style) with all the market veggies
  6. finally brought home one of the best thrift store deals I’ve ever found ($8 desk for making!)
  7. took our littlest brother to the indoor go-kart track for his birthday
  8. collapsed after all that

My aunt and uncle’s backyard in the mountains (#3) was amazing, but I only pretend to know how to use my camera and the pictures turned out pretty horrible.  The shot at the top is looking past the corner of their gazebo with sun streaming down and tall pines edging their lawn.

These are a few succulents that sit on the steps to their otherwise leafy garden.  I wanted to put this little pot in my back pocket and inch sideways out to my car, but I think they might have noticed.

They had a gazebo, waterfall, koi pond, fruit garden with greenhouse, outdoor kitchen, and firepit amid the nicely curated mix of native plants–all without looking contrived or overdone.

And I wanted to share this pic for several reasons.  I love that the neighbor has an old red pickup out front and that they have this fantastic view of pine trees out their door.  I also wanted to point out that the “fog” in the trees there is not cool, misty fog on a brisk mountain morning, but rather stinging, sooty smoke in the middle of the day from the 800(!) wildfires that were burning in California.  I think a lot of people outside of California think we are crazy for living with earthquakes and fires, but honestly most of us are never affected by these events.  Now after not being able to see the sky for most of a week I think maybe we are crazy.

Back home with blue skies I got quite choked up when my brother had to leave so I think I’ll go drown my sorrows with some good old fashioned sewing.  See you soon!

Entry filed under: green, photos. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

feeling stitchy japanese goodness

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. sheasy  |  July 1, 2008 at 7:40 am

    I want a red pick up.

    It’s nice to be able to breathe again, at least for a little while…. thank you firefighters of California!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

