Google twin, where are you?

April 28, 2008 at 10:23 am 1 comment

I keep coming across references to Google twins (or Googlegangers) and haven’t searched my name recently so I thought I would give it a try. [Google twins are other people with the same name as yours, that you find by Googling your name. There is a book and a documentary out, and here is a smart article explaining why we are interested in people with “our” name.]

Now, if I put in my maiden name, which has a less-than-usual spelling, I come up with an elementary school principal in Canada, an OB-GYN in Boston, a school admin in Kentucky, a gospel singer in Conneticut, a world champion deep sea diver in England, and a philanthropic temp service employee in West Virginia.

Then I type in my married name. It isn’t that amazingly unique. In fact, my first name (Tanya) is standard enough that I was often able to find it on those racks of personalized coffee mugs and miniature license plates while growing up. However, this particular name combo cannot be found on Google!

For some reason I find that oddly frustrating — and a tiny bit cool.

(Who are your Google twins?)

Entry filed under: random. Tags: , , , .

Harold Mr. Man!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Kat  |  May 5, 2008 at 11:28 am

    So I come up with all my names:
    Kat Overton
    Katrina Overton
    Katrina Roesler-Schmidt
    even my modeling name Kameron Derek

    Katrina Overton works at microsoft, and is a terrific athelete, and graduated with honors.
    Kat Overton is a character in a murder mystery dinner train. how cool is THAT?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

