defacing

January 28, 2008 at 9:15 pm 2 comments

Anybody who knows me, knows I love the books. But I also need to remember they are not sacred texts to be preserved from the mutilations of a mere mortal. So I am using a poorly** written early-reader book as a scribbling flexing-my-art-muscles journal. Just lines and dots, but muy fun.

dscn0100.jpg

 

dscn0101.jpg

**The poorly written early-reader novel…

dscn0099.jpg

According to the back of “Watermelon Mystery” the Sugar Creek Gang are always “bounding into adventures filled with suspense, mystery, and laughter.” They are “fun-filled, life-loving boys who never have a dull day.” Except that the fun-filled part appears to be when Little Les describes the water content of watermelons. I kid you not. (Page 40). And the suspenseful part? When he is snooping as Little Jim writes a mysterious, possibly devious letter only to discover that he is simply reminding his friend to study for Sunday school (Page 94).  And what kind of young live-loving boy knows exactly how much his dad weighs?!?

I offer my condolences to any young boy who picked up these books expecting a rollicking good time.
They are lame.

Someone who knows how to properly deface a book: Brian Dettmer

briandettmer2.jpg

Entry filed under: art, books. Tags: , , , , .

shameless pimping tattoos for me

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mr. Mirell  |  January 29, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    OH SUGAR CREEK GANG! I’m sorry she defiled you!

    Reply
  • 2. Sheila  |  January 29, 2008 at 9:03 pm

    These are fantastic. But now that you’ve ruined the ending for me, I’m not sure how I’m gonna get to sleep tonight. *sigh*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2008
S M T W T F S
    Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

