pot shots

January 16, 2008 at 9:01 pm Leave a comment

Roaming through my digital pictures I came across a few that made me start to think about inspiration. Normally I am immediately drawn to something—usually visual. But going through my file that is in desperate need of some weeding, I started to deliberately choose a few things that I would normally automatically ignore or even delete.

 

adventuremoon-332-1.jpg

What the heck is this? And in this modern age of immediate digital feedback, why did we keep this? But I am glad I have it now.

 

misc-038-1.jpg

A tree in our backyard that looks great with leaves, but plagues me with those menacing, treacherous little spiky pods. Now that I stop to look at this shot though, I start to feel all abstract-y.

 

mom-rick-in-victoria-2005-014-1.jpg

Clouds from a trip that I wasn’t even on. But I love those hints at shadow on the right.

And I think this exercise in deliberately choosing to find inspiration in the everyday/mundane/refuse is useful for what I am about to embark upon:

Thing-A-Day

Join me! Or join Mr. Man in commiserating over a wife who will be spending more and more time closeted away. 

Anybody else out there have some unusual inspiration sources?

 

Entry filed under: art, goals. Tags: , , .

the road some is better than none

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2008
S M T W T F S
    Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

